Tags

, , , , , ,

It’s a warm summer afternoon, and I came across my blog that I started in college. I’m reading the last thing I posted over a year ago when I realized I was supposed to get back to you the next day about a teaching job I was up for. So what the heck happened?

So much, I hardly know where to start…

I got the job!

…and then I lost it a month later when the teacher that had it before me decided she needed to keep her position.

The day after my graduation party my husband blew the L-4, L-5 disc in his spinal cord and became paralyzed. So yeah, THAT was a super fun summer! (He’s ok, though, learning to walk on crutches and forging ahead. Is there any other option?)

Then about two weeks before school started I was blessed to get another position teaching high school English, further away from home, in the town I was born and grew up in. Let me tell you, getting up at 5:00 am to drive my husband to his job, and then an hour to mine, teaching teenagers all day, and then pointing my car in the other direction to do it all again in reverse is exhausting. Exciting. Terrifying. Exhilarating. Rewarding. And right back to exhausting.

But I feel like I’m where I was meant to be. I’ve learned so much in the last year, and as trite as that phrase can be, it’s true. I’ve made some good friendships, been blessed with great mentors, and taught some amazing kids. And in one month, I go back and do it again, this time with an AP class and my own Jane Austen elective to add to my American Lit classes. Oh yeah, and I can’t forget the knitting club I started for the kids Monday after school

And if that’s not all enough, I’m going back to my alma matter, MMU, to get a post-baccalaureate in education and my teaching license. ‘Cuz I guess I’m just not “edumacated” enough yet!

Big deal, I’ll add a couple of night classes to the mix. Because as the old saying goes, “that which does not kill you makes you stronger.” I’m going to either end up like one of those weight lifters in the olympics or six feet under. But as always, I’m determined to enjoy the ride!

