Tags

, , , , ,

While Washington Island doesn’t have a mountain per se, it does have a tower one can climb on Mountain View Road, and on a clear day, the views are spectacular!

 

But wait…I’m getting ahead of myself. Before we can enjoy the view of other distant islands from the top of the tower, we have to climb a lot of steps.

 

…and we’re not done yet! We still have to get to the top of the tower! Whew! I’m pooped!

Looks like Sophia and her friend Zoe made it up just fine. But then their hearts are thirty-five years younger than mine! In fact, those steps aren’t for the faint of heart. They are open, and if you suffer from vertigo like I do, you may prefer to stay on terra firma. Sometimes, I can’t resist the views, though, so I take a deep breath, screw up my courage, and go for it!

 

On a clear day, you can catch a glimpse of one of the islands that belong to Michigan.

 

Or turn around for a bird’s eye view of the woods and a spectacular autumn sunset.

 

Of course, what goes up must eventually come down.

