Tags

, , , ,

Image

photo by Walter Stoneburner

Hello Dear Readers!

I have not forgotten or abandoned you although it may appear that way. It’s my favorite time of year! Christmas time, you ask? Why…no…

It’s the ever popular end of the semester! And you thought “Black Friday” and “Cyber Monday” were for shopping! Silly Readers!

Black Friday is named as such because it’s the day every college student realizes that every major paper, exam, and project is now due in a matter of days, not weeks or months.

Cyber Monday is when we frantically do our last-minute research to try to gather enough information to flesh out those last papers to the required number of pages. I am also using Cyber Monday to beg my poor professors for letters of recommendation to the grad schools I’m applying to, and speaking of that, what sadistic mastermind decided to make all the deadlines for applying to these illustrious bastions of higher education DURING FINALS?! I have five universities to apply to between December 2nd and December 15th, each requiring a hefty application fee and personalization of my statement of purpose.

What is my new statement of purpose going to be about, you ask? Surviving all this work with a minimum of permanent damage to my psyche while still trying to pull off the coveted 4.0 GPA as well as receiving multiple offers from the grad schools of my choice.

photo by Joe Schlabotknik

That’s right, Santa…

All I want for Christmas is a fellowship to the University of Chicago…

And I’ve been a VERY good girl this year!

