Tags

, , ,

Hello, All!

I have spent the last four days on Washington Island in Door County, Wisconsin. I have been going to the island for the last 14 years, and it is without a doubt my favorite place in all the world. I go there with my family to rest, relax and recharge, my personal “three R’s!” This special place speaks to me, and I truly feel like I am “home” when I am on my island.  My husband and I hope to buy land here and build a log cabin sometime in the future.

I plan to write an extensive post over the next few days with lots of pictures from our weekend, but for now, I’ll leave you with this “teaser.” We recently learned in our Advanced Creative Writing class about photography techniques, and one is called leading lines, which are lines in a photograph that lead your eye into the picture. This is the road to the ferry dock at Northport, the end of Hwy 42 in the Door, and, yes, the road was really intended to look like this. Jens Jensen, the man who designed the road and a notable figure from the island’s past, wanted the road to look like it followed through the woods naturally. This is probably one of the most photographed places in Door County. For me, it is the “line” that “leads” me home!

Leading me Home

