Tags

, ,

I’m tired. Numbingly tired. Don’t-know-which-direction-is-up tired. Such is the state of being for the non-traditional student.

I am having a difficult time adjusting to the work load for this semester. In previous years, I worked three days a week at my local hospital as a phlebotomist and then went to school the other two days a week. Nights were for homework and weekends for homework, housework, and family. Now that I’m a senior, the few class requirements I have left are harder to fit in to such a rigid schedule. I’ve had to learn to be a creative juggler to get all my requirements in, so this fall I go to work a half hour earlier on Mondays and Wednesdays so that I can leave in time to make my two night classes. I still have classes on Tuesdays and Thursdays and work on Fridays. I thought this would actually be easier (what was I thinking?) because I have my classes spread out over four days, but I’ve come to realize that I’ve managed to lose two nights of homework time. After working for eight hours and going to school directly after for three to four, there is no earthly way that I have the energy to study when I get home, but I really need to. My bed has become my long-lost friend. One of us has moved out of town, and I’m suffering separation anxiety. Not that I’d have the time to make it anyway, and that’s another thing. My house is a disaster. My bathrooms would be condemned by the health department if I were crazy enough to let them in the house, and I have twelve bushes full of tomatoes waiting to be canned or frozen in my garden. I’m pretty sure I have a new husband somewhere, but it seems I’ve misplaced him. I THINK my youngest still has long blonde hair, but I’m not so sure anymore. I know what my cats look like, though!  They love hanging out with me late at night “helping” me with my homework.

Murphy makes a great paperweight, don’t you think?

I want to be my 18 year-old self again when my mom and dad supported me so that all I had to worry about was school, homework, and boyfriends. I want my 18 year old propensity for staying up all night and functioning reasonably well the next day back. I want someone to make me dinner and clean my house! I want my bed back!

Ah, well. This too shall pass. I’ll figure it out eventually, find my rhythm, and learn to function within this new schedule.

In the meantime, I’m going to take a nap.

